Study Playlists

I’m one of those people who stay up late at night, listlessly jotting down words and numbers that make no sense into my homework due on Monday, one of those people who pull all-nighters on accident because I’m researching something fascinating.

I’m not a particularly healthy person, but at least I have music to keep me company.

STUDYING ALL NIGHT LONG

Tunigo Intense Studying

Lately, I’ve been obsessed with four artists:

Massive Attack, whose trip hop is dark and sensual,

Ra Ra Riot, whose chamber pop indie music is young and fresh and just a little bit sexual, as if they were teenagers just discovering the hidden treasures of their bodies,

Mother Mother, whose arena-ready music is pumped full of rebellion and the romantic wildernesses of young idealism,

And Eurobeat Brony, who makes me flawlessly conflicted every time I listen to his mixes.

My Little Pony, in particular, is a conflicting area for me. I don’t like it, but it speaks to my core values. More and more men are discovering their love of the franchise that was once targeted towards six year old girls, and it’s a surprisingly nonsexual, not-creepy, fairly average type of fan-love (what is that? eheheh…). I never liked horses, but the tramp stamps are hilarious and remind me of the fact that the creators know the creators of Powerpuff Girls who are also the creators of Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends, who have worked with Ryan North, who is friends with Andrew Hussie, whom everyone knows or has heard of and I’m geeking out so hard right now, but comics are the future of the liberal world where no one is limited by tertiary sex characteristics and circles and lines.

I can feel it. I can feel the revolution.

Listening to: Carmen by Lana Del Rey

Leave a Reply

