Broken Chalkboards

I own a soapbox, and I will stand on it with all the might in my tiny Asian girl body and proudly proclaim to the world that I just don’t give a fuck.

[continue here]

seattlechunny

(Why chalkboards and not the current, quintessential whiteboard? I’m not sure; I think it has something to do with this odd love affair with nostalgia. )

Our schools are broken.

Even if you see the gleaming white city upon a hill, backed by wonderful and miraculous test scores and graduation rates, you still have to admit.

Our schools are broken.

And I don’t mean just a small crack in the soft exterior, or a clean break through a noncritical component. I mean a real mess of mistakes, spiderwebbing throughout the very foundation of education as we know today.

There are so many things wrong with our school that I’m not sure where to start, but in all hopes of full disclosure, I’ll try to just “start from the beginning, and keep going until [I] reach the end.”

Divided into parts because it became too long to handle. Hopefully I’ll have…

View original post 37 more words

2 responses to “Broken Chalkboards

  1. Pingback: Teens React to Jeff Bliss | Surviving High School and Other Life Lessons·

  2. Pingback: 5 Reasons Why the System Sucks | Surviving High School: A Hypocrat in a Perpetual State of Procrastination·

Leave a Reply

