Starting the New Year just a little bit late

Yay! We’ve made it to 2015. I’m very proud to be graduating as part of the future, and the knowledge that I’m almost done is refreshing and uplifting.

But if I were to be 100% honest, I’m fighting senioritis a little bit more than I was at the beginning of the year, and I can’t help but think that I’d rather lie around in bed all day than go to class and learn. Not that that was happening all too often, anyway…

I pretty much checked out of reality for two and a half weeks, and I’m not excited about having to go back. Winter break, in my opinion, is much too short and filled with too much people-presence and not enough time to yourself.

I’d hate to peter out and end my high school career with a whimper, though, so here’s what I’m planning to do in the future:

1) Blog a little more. Any time I feel apathetic, uninspired, I’ll create a blog post. Maybe it’ll be about nothing and it’ll end up here. Maybe it’ll be reflecting or full of advice. Maybe it’ll be creative, in which case, it’ll end up here. Or it’ll involve some planning, I don’t know.

2) Actually do some exercise. I’ve always been rather fit–definitely never the slowest kid in gym class, but I think I’m growing old because if I stay in one position for too long, I find that my body starts to stick that way. Especially my back. I have back pain, and it sucks. But in an effort to get rid of it, I’ve actually started doing core exercises and yoga stretches that help reduce the pain. Yay! I’m even doing Blogilates’ 30-day Flat Abs challenge.

3) Get a job. This is going to happen sometime after my internship ends. I want to start making money, really, so it’s not just jobs–I’ve really got to start on those scholarship competitions. Preferably sooner rather than later.

4) I’ve fallen by the wayside of reading ever since I entered high school. Okay, that’s not strictly true. I’ve fallen by the wayside of book reading. Right now, all I read is fanfiction, and I don’t think that’s particularly healthy or informative. But I’ve checked out some books from the library, and I’m super excited to read them. I need to get my reading speed back up again, and I miss the feeling of reading for enjoyment more than once a week. I’ll even start using Goodreads more often, I think, because that list of books is sorely outdated.

5) Get on top of my to do list. Which I suck at. Time management is my problem. I need to fix that. Start scheduling things better, etc. Finish the college stuff I promised myself I’d finish.

Here’s to a better year!

cheers

2 responses to “Starting the New Year just a little bit late

Leave a Reply

